Palma Vela

From 28th April to 7th May we enjoyed the 19th edition of the Palma Vela organised by the Real Club Náutico de Palma.
We were honoured to sponsor it for another year!

The exciting regatta took place in the waters of the bay of Palma. With a total of 45 teams taking part in the traditional “La Larga” race and more than 100 in the exciting coastal races, this competition attracted 1,500 sailors from 20 countries.

Thanks to the excellent organisation of the Real Club Náutico de Palma and the commitment of the island’s tourism sector, this year the number of entries doubled. It is hoped that this trend will continue in the coming years, consolidating Palma as an outstanding sporting, social and economic benchmark.

The official presentation to the media took place on the day of the inauguration. Among the attendees were Alejandra Vanoli, director of VIVA Sotheby’s, who accompanied Emerico Fuster, president of the Real Club Náutico de Palma, Javier Sanz, president of the Royal Spanish Sailing Federation, and Fina Santiago, councillor for Social Affairs, among other distinguished guests. Once again, the Mallorca Sotheby’s International Realty team, as proud sponsors of the regatta, did not want to miss this magnificent event.

Image: Real Club Náutico de Palma, 2023

The winners of the 19th Palma Vela

On Sunday 7th May, the bay of Palma witnessed the exciting fourth and final day of the 19th edition of Palma Vela. The last races that decided the outcome of the competition took place in this final event.

Images: Real Club Náutico de Palma, 2023

The winners of the 19th edition of Palma Vela included the teams “Galateia” in the Maxi A category and “Stormvogel” in the Maxi B category. In Maxi A, the “Galateia” team led by Chris Flowers and David M. Leuschen took four first places. Leuschen took four first places and discarded a third place, thus achieving a five-point victory over Sir Lindsay Owen’s “Magic Carpet” team, which came in second place. In Maxi B, the “Stormvogel” team led by Ermanno Traverso secured the title with a second place finish in the last race, beating Romain Mouchel’s “Atalante” team who finished second.

Christian Plump and Javier Sanz’s “Elena Nova” retains the Palma Vela title in the ORC 1 division. In ORC 2, Maciej Gnatowski’s “Scamp Three” takes the victory, while in ORC 3 Kai Mares’ “Immac Fram” is proclaimed champion. In the ORC 4-5 category, Scott Beattie’s “Just The Job” regained first place.

On the other hand, in the Sportboat class, John Walker’s “Finally” was crowned the winner. As for the one-designs, María Bover’s “Team Balearia RCNP” triumphed in J80, Patrick Monteiro’s “Seljm” won in 6 Metres, and “Capa” won in the Dragon class. In the Vintage and Spirit of Tradition classes, Tim Liesenhoff’s “Marigan” and Marcus Schiermann’s “Little Thila” were the winners, respectively.

Thanks to the Real Club Náutico de Palma for giving us the opportunity to partner with them. Looking forward to collaborating again next year!

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: